Steel Captain Commits to Minnesota State University


Chicago Steel forward Danny Fetzer has committed to play college hockey at Minnesota State University, Mankato beginning next season.

Fetzer recorded 23 points (16g, 7a) in 55 regular season games for the Steel.  He tied for third on the club with 16 goals while also serving as team captain.  Late this season, he put together a four-game point streak in which he accumulated six points (4g, 2a), including his first USHL career hat trick in the 5-2 win over the Youngstown Phantoms on April 2nd.

It was the second season with the Steel for Fetzer after putting up 12 points (6g, 6a) in 52 games in 2012-13.  He scored a goal in his USHL debut on September 28th, 2012 during a 3-2 victory over the Indiana Ice.  The Chicago, Illinois native played youth hockey with the Chicago Young Americans organization prior to his junior career.

“Danny has given this organization everything he had for the last two years and he has grown as a player and as a person,” said Chicago Steel head coach Scott McConnell.  “Mankato is getting a great leader, hockey player, and person.  Danny will make them a better hockey team and a better institution.”

Fetzer’s teammate this season, defenseman Alec Vanko, is also committed to Minnesota State University, Mankato.  Eight other players that competed in the USHL this season are also committed to the school; Casey Jerry (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Hunter Warner (Fargo Force), Jason Pawloski (Indiana Ice),Luca Frigo (Omaha Lancers), C.J. Franklin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Zeb Knutson (Sioux Falls Stampede), Ryan Schwalbe (Sioux Falls Stampede), and Jason Krych (Tri-City Storm).

The Mavericks of Minnesota State are a member of the WCHA and had 15 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Blake Thompson (Waterloo/Sioux Falls), Carter Foguth (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Zach Palmquist (Waterloo Black Hawks), Max Gaede (Sioux City Musketeers), Jean-Paul Lafontaine (Green Bay Gamblers), J.P. Burkemper (Fargo/Des Moines), Jordan Nelson (Fargo Force), Mike Huntebrinker (Waterloo Black Hawks), Matt Leitner (Fargo Force), Zach Lehrke (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Chase Grant (Fargo Force), Zach Stepan (Waterloo Black Hawks), Dylan Margonari (Youngstown Phantoms), Brett Stern (Green Bay Gamblers), and Stephon Williams (Waterloo/Sioux Falls).

The entire Mavericks coaching staff also has ties to the USHL.  Head coach Mike Hastings is second on the League’s all-time wins list (529) as he led the Omaha Lancers for 14 seasons, assistant coach Todd Knott played in the USHL and coached in both Des Moines and Sioux City, and assistant coach Darren Blue played two seasons for the Des Moines Buccaneers.

Categories: Players in the News

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: