2015 AHAI Annual Meeting: Board of Directors Candidates & Proposed By-Law Change

ahaienews ahai logo

The 2015 Annual Meeting of the Amateur Hockey Association Illinois, Inc. will take place on Sunday, May 31, 2015, at the Woodfield Hyatt Hotel located at 1800 E. Golf Road in Schaumburg, IL 60173 (across the street on the north side of the Woodfield Mall)  847.605.1234 in Schaumburg, Illinois, beginning promptly at 8:30 a.m.

The AHAI Board of Directors requests that each Association, Club, Team or League send their registered voting member to this meeting. If you have a question as to whom the registered voting member is, please e-mail Laura Johnson at registrar@ahai2.org.

This year the meeting format will be different and will include association board membership seminar sessions. These seminar sessions will be geared toward the education of Association Board of Directors, Hockey Directors and Coaches and other interested members. Instructors will be from AHAI and USA Hockey; each session will be 40 minutes in length.

The early seminar sessions will focus primarily on the education and contacts for further assistance. The last breakout sessions will be open forums which will include updates on possible changes for each discipline along with a question and answer session. The closing session will be a brief recap of the day and the election of the AHAI Board of Directors for 2015-2016 along with any voting needed for proposed AHAI Bylaw changes.

In addition, five (5) candidates have submitted their nomination in accordance with the AHAI By-Laws to fill the five (5) open seats to serve a three (3) year term on the AHAI Board of Directors.

One new By-Law proposal has been submitted this year in accordance with the timelines as set out in the rules and is attached herewith.


Annual meeting schedule


The AHAI Board of Directors has reviewed all of the candidates and endorses the following five (5) individuals to serve on the AHAI Board of Directors:

Don Angelini

Gino Cavallini

Gregg Chudacoff

John Dunne

Bill Gomolinski

Each of the foregoing individuals has demonstrated a commitment to the purposes of AHAl, as well as the core values of USA Hockey (sportsmanship respect, integrity. pursuit of individual, team and organizational excellence, promotion of all participants’ enjoyment of the game. loyalty, and teamwork).

These individuals have earned the respect of youth organizations through their leadership efforts at the grassroots level –   they have all served with local hockey organizations – and have fostered sportsmanship, respect and integrity within the organizations they have served.

Their proven ability to work within the hockey community has resulted in increasing numbers of participants enjoying the game of hockey. Developing and advancing amateur hockey throughout Illinois are the primary goals of these individuals, without regard to personal or familial gain, reward or recognition.

Remember the importance of these goals when voting for Directors of AHAI. Those who have been involved with AHAI know that its real work is done through its Committees due to the sheer breadth of the tasks necessary to accomplish its stated purposes.

Each of the individuals endorsed by the Board of Directors currently serves on one or more Committees. The biographies on each of the five candidates are attached. Please make every effort to attend this meeting. The hockey community needs your participation to further grow amateur hockey here in Illinois.

Thank you again in advance for all of your help and cooperation in the furtherance of youth hockey in Illinois.


The number of Directors of AHAI shall be fifteen (15) as elected by the voting member teams. Five (5) Directors shall be elected annually. Each such elected Director shall hold office for three (3) years or until his/her successor shall be duly elected or otherwise provided. To be qualified, each candidate must be legally competent and has or will successfully pass the AHAI screening as soon as possible.
5.3.1 In the event of a vacancy by death, resignation, or removal, the President of AHAI shall appoint a Director to fill such unexpired term.
5.3.2 In addition to the 15 elected Directors, the Board shall include the following non-voting directors: immediate past president of AHAI, the AHAI Supervisor of Officials, the AHAI Executive Director and all Illinois Affiliate District Representatives to USA Hockey who are in all ways equal and fully qualified Directors.


Categories: AHAI, Hockey Headlines

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: