Dr. Elizabeth Pieroth Receives USA Hockey’s 2016 Excellence in Safety Award

Elizabeth PierothAHAI congratulates Dr. Elizabeth Pieroth for being named the 2016 recipient USA Hockey’s Excellence in Safety Award. Dr. Pieroth is a Board Certified Neuropsychologist and the Associate Director of the Sports Concussion Program at NorthShore University HealthSystem. She is also the Concussion Specialist for the Chicago Blackhawks, Chicago Bears, Chicago Fire, and Chicago White Sox. Dr. Pieroth was instrumental in creating the A Step aHead Program, AHAI’s free baseline testing initiative to combat one of the most common head injuries: concussions. Dr. Pieroth, along with the Chicago Blackhawks, NorthShore University HealthSystem, Athletico Physical Therapy and AHAI continue to educate the Illinois youth hockey community on the importance of concussion management and to be proactive with implementing baseline testing.

The USA Hockey Excellence in Safety Award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions through many years of service to make hockey a safer game for all participants. This includes contributions to decrease the risk for injury or promoting safety on the playing surface by working in the field of medicine, epidemiology, psychology, kinesiology, physiology, chemistry, physics, or engineering.


Previous Award winners:

2015 – Charles Burke III

2014 – Carolyn Emery

2013 – Douglas Abrams

2012 – Charles Tator

2011 – Aynsley Smith

2010 – Mark Lovell

2009 – No award

2008 – Michael Stuart

2007 – Alan Ashare

2006 – Dewey Morehouse, Paul Vinger, Cos Castaldi, Earl Hoerner

2005 – George Nagobads

Categories: Awards and Honors, USA Hockey News

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: