2016 Illinois Hockey Officials Association (IHOA) Annual Meeting & Board of Directors Election

ahaienews ihoaI hope your spring is turning out nicely and you are enjoying the post season wind-down. There are many items on the IHOA plate and I would like to touch on a few of them with you.

Last night, IHOA conducted its Annual Meeting to recap the past year’s activities and conduct the membership election of 5 Board Members to the IHOA Board of Directors.

At the Annual Meeting, the membership elected the following 5 people, including 2 new Board members, to the Board and congratulations go out to: Michael Barrett, Eric Cowsill, Nicole Davis, Don Mrozik and David Zednik. Each of these members will serve a three year term on the IHOA Board. They will join the following people as the 2016-2017 IHOA Board of Directors:

The 2016-2017 IHOA Board of Directors is:

(Term ending in 2017):
Larry Clark
Len Edling
John Oldenburg
Geoff Schlender
Mason Strom

(Term ending in 2018):
Erin Blair
Steven Drews
Jameson Gronert
Carl Sassolino
Craig Welker

(Term Ending in 2019):
Michael Barrett
Eric Cowsill
Nicole Davis
Don Mrozik
David Zednik

At the conclusion of the IHOA Annual Meeting, the Board convened and elected the following people to the Executive Board:

President: John Oldenburg
Vice President: David Zednik
Secretary: Nicole Davis
Treasurer: Geoff Schlender
Registrar: Jameson Gronert
RIC: Michael Barrett

I know I speak for each and every one of these dedicated individuals when I say they represent you as officials and will each make every attempt to keep the officiating community informed as to the issues affecting the officials.

As a Board we are discussing many issues in an attempt to continue the fine tradition of IHOA. Some of the current issues we are discussing include expanding evaluations, mentoring, development and others, all of which are designed to help each and every official become the best official they can be. Additionally, there are ongoing discussions regarding seminars for the coming season and a likely dues reduction. More information will follow as it becomes available.

As part of the Board’s processes, we fill positions among the many committees which are vital to the administration of IHOA. I firmly believe that participation from all officials will continue to make IHOA a leader in the nation among the officiating community. Therefore, I encourage each and every official to participate in IHOA by volunteering for a committee.

In the next few weeks or so, John Oldenburg, President of IHOA, will appoint the Chairperson(s) to all of the IHOA committees. In addition, we will update the IHOA website and place contact information for officers, board members and committee chairs on the website. Please send an email to the committee chair for which you would like to participate and shortly thereafter he/she will send a return email to you.

As a Board, we represent you, the official, and we are here to help you in any way we can. Communication is the key to solving problems and making the organization stronger so please let us hear from you.

Please note the USA Hockey Annual Congress is set for June 8-11 in Colorado Springs and the AHAI Annual Meeting is Saturday, June 25, 2016. At the conclusion of the USAH meeting, IHOA will report back to you to discuss the decisions rendered by USAH with respect to IHOA and the officiating community.

More information will be sent out as it becomes available. In the meantime, have a safe and happy summer!


Michael Barrett,
Illinois Referee in Chief &
Supervisor of Officials

Categories: Hockey Headlines

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: