Illinois & Central District Volunteers Recognized at USA Hockey’s Annual Congress

AHAI Congratulates Mike Mullally, Amy LaPoe and Dave LaBuda on receiving Service Awards at USA Hockey’s Night of Tribute Dinner on Wednesday, June 8 during the 2016 USA Hockey Annual Congress in Colorado Springs.

The continued growth and development of USA Hockey would not be possible without the contributions of dedicated volunteers nationwide. These individuals share in USA Hockey’s success and accomplishments year after year. Their selfless work and commitment continue to make a difference in the sport of hockey and in the lives of those who play the game.

USA Hockey annually recognizes the outstanding contributions of national- and district-level volunteers who have served at least 5 years with the organization as a district registrar, associate registrar, coach-in-chief, referee-in-chief, risk manager, section representative or member of the board of directors. Council and committee members began to accumulate official years of service during the 1999-2000 season while affiliate presidents’ accrual began in 2008-09.

Mike Mullally – 5 Years Service Award
President, Amateur Hockey Association of Illinois (2008-12)
Director, Central District (2015-16)

Amy LaPoe – 10 Years Service Award
Disabled Hockey Section (2006-16)

Dave LaBuda – 25 Years Service Award
Referee-in-Chief, Central District (1991-2007)
Playing Rules Committee (2007-16)
National Referee-in-Chief (2007-16)

Additionally, the Sabre Girls Hockey Association was recognized during the Night of Tribute with the Female Honors Award. This award was established in 2013, and annually recognizes one association per USA Hockey District that is a leader in the growth, development and promotion of ice hockey for females.

Sabre Girls Hockey Association
Female Honors Award
USA Hockey’s Central District

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dr. Elizabeth Pieroth received the Excellence in Safety Award at the annual President’s Award Dinner on Friday, June 11. The Excellence in Safety Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to make hockey a safer game for all participants.

Elizabeth PierothDr. Elizabeth Pieroth is a board certified clinical
 neuropsychologist specializing in concussions
and traumatic brain injury, and is known
throughout the athletic community for her extensive work in sports- related concussions and management. Pieroth joined the NorthShore University Health System Sports Concussion Program as an associate director in 2012 after spending 13 years independently working with children and adults with concussive injuries. She has also been involved in assessing NHL players since the league implemented its mandatory preseason and post-injury neuropsychological testing concussion program in 1997. Since 2005, she has worked with the NHL’s Chicago Blackhawks as a concussion specialist, and is also a current member of the Amateur Hockey Association of Illinois’ Safety Committee. Her work in professional sports extends beyond hockey, as Pieroth also serves as a head injury and concussion specialist for the NFL’s Chicago Bears, MLB’s Chicago White Sox, Major League Soccer’s Chicago Fire and numerous colleges and high schools. She is on the board of directors of the Brain Injury Association of Illinois and is a member of the USA Football Heads Up Advisory Committee and U.S. Soccer Concussion Task Force. In addition, she has written journals and articles on concussion management and assessment. Certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology, Pieroth graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign before earning her doctorate in clinical psychology from the Illinois School of Professional Psychology.

Categories: AHAI, Central District, Officials, USA Hockey News

Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: