Ask AHAI: Mite Two Choice Question

ahaienews ahai logo2

QUESTION: My question pertains to a player who participated in AHAI/NIHL 8U during the 2014-15 season and wants to play this season (2016-17). Is he assessed a choice? My son played as a NIHL Mite for Club “A” in 2014-15. He then played as a NIHL squirt in 2015-16. Now, he will be moving to club “B” for the 2016-17 season. Can you clarify if that means Club “B” will not count against his second choice, or that Club “A” isn’t his first choice?

AHAI: Your son gets a “pass” for Mite for the 2014-15 season, but he has made 2 Choices. Simply, any player who played Mites in the 2014-15, 2015-16, or 2016-17 seasons gets a “pass”. This only pertains to playing as a Mite. The MITE team they played on or will play on for those seasons does not count as a choice (AHAI Mite Two Choice Clarification).

In your son’s case, his Mite year 2014-15 is NOT a choice:

  • His choice as a Squirt in 2015-16 is Club Choice “A”.
  • His new 2nd year Squirt choice for 2016-17 will be Club Choice “B”.
  • Therefore, he has made or is about to make his 2nd choice, “A” and “B” Clubs.

Any question on specific circumstances can be sent to ASK AHAI or to the AHAI Tier II Chairman, Gregg Chudacoff.



Categories: Advice, AHAI

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: