Ask the Official: Penalty on a Center During a Face-Off

ihoa-large-header

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Vice President

QUESTION: During a bantam game, in the process of playing the puck during a face-off, one center knocks over the other. Is it the correct call to give the center still standing a charging minor and misconduct?

ANSWER: A Charging (2 and 10) or Interference minor could be assessed to a center if he makes deliberate and overt contact with the opposing center during a face-off and makes no attempt to play the puck. However, any incidental body contact that occurs while attempting to play the puck (player is “puck focused”) should not be penalized as long as the contact is within the guidelines of the playing rules.



Categories: Officials

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: