Providence Catholic Celtics Clinch Catholic League’s Kennedy Cup

By Nick Iaciancio

The Chicago Catholic hockey league recently completed their season ending tournament. At the varsity level, the Kennedy Cup, the oldest trophy is Illinois High school hockey, was awarded to the Providence Catholic Celtics. The Celtics began their run with a 2 game sweep of the St. Viator Lions and followed it up with a 2 game sweep of the St. Rita Mustangs in the semi finals. Their opponent in the championship, best of three series, was the Fenwick Friars. Fenwick advanced to the finals by outlasting the Notre Dame Dons in game 3 of their quarterfinal matchup, and sweeping the Brother Rice Crusaders in 2 games. In the finals, game one was a Celtic victory by the score of 3-1. Celtic goal scorers were Jake Vennetti, Kevin Horan and Shane Horan. Goaltender Ryan Iaciancio turned away 16 shots in the victory. Game 2 was the clinching victory for Providence as they defeated the Friars 6-2. The Celtics spread the scoring around with Josh Mooncotch ( 2 goals), Jake Rott, Jack McConnell, Cam Cutler and Dominic Borrelli all finding the scoresheet. Iaciancio made 22 saves in the victory. Ryan Iaciancio was named the series Most Valuable Player and the victory represented the 3rd time in 4 years that the Celtics have won the Kennedy Cup.

At the JV level, it was again the Providence Catholic Celtics rolling their way into the finals to face a familiar opponent in the Fenwick Friars. In game one, the Celtics came out on top by the score of 4-0. Goal scorers for the Celtics were Tommy Davis, Dominic Borrelli, Colin Ries and Sam Johnston. Game 2 saw the Friars jump all over the Celtics by the score of 6-2, forcing a deciding game three for the title. In game 3 the Celtics would find their way to victory with a 4-2 win. Goal scorers for the Celtics were again Davis, Borrelli, Ries and Johnston. With their victory, the Celtics have won the DiCristina Cup for a record 7th straight year.

The Chicago Catholic Hockey League is in its 54th year of operation.  The league consists of ten Chicagoland Catholic schools offering high school hockey as a school sponsored sport.  The CCHL maintains a rich history of talented student athletes that have gone on to play collegiately, internationally and professionally.  Notable alumni include former NHL players Chris Chelios (Mount Carmel), Ed Olczyk (Br. Rice), Bates Battaglia (Fenwick), Joe Corvo (Fenwick) and Tim Stapleton (Fenwick).  Former NCAA standouts  Gary Kruzich (DeLaSalle, 1984 NCAA Champion at Bowling Green 1984  and Finals MVP) and Scott Paluch (St. Rita and Bowling Green  1988 All American ).  The CCHL has produced current collegiate coaches: George Roll (Br. Rice and Nazareth College), Joe Augustine (St. Rita and Rhode Island University) Mark Opstipina (Mount Carmel and Milwaukee School of Engineering) and John Micheletto (Mount Carmel and University of Notre Dame).  For more information, please visit the Chicago Catholic Hockey League at

Categories: High School

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: