Ask the Official: Off-sides & Legal/Illegal Goal

By Dave Zednik

QUESTION: Puck is shot into the defensive zone of Team A and a delayed off-sides is signaled. Before the off-side Team B player can leave the zone, the defenseman takes possession of the puck and skates near his net and accidentally puts the puck into his own goal. Is this considered a legal goal?

ANSWER: The goal that occurred in the situation you presented cannot be allowed since the attacking team still gained an advantage through an illegal play. They shot the puck into the attacking zone with a player off-side (this is illegal), and the result of that dump in was a goal. This cannot be allowed.



Categories: Ask the Official

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: