2017 U.S. Men’s National U18 Team Roster Announced; Includes Illinois’ Tyler Inamoto & Sean Dhooge

By USA Hockey

USA Hockey today announced the roster and coaching staff for the U.S. Men’s National Under-18 Team that will compete at the 2017 International Ice Hockey Federation Under-18 Men’s World Championship from April 13-23, in Poprad and Spišská Nová Ves, Slovakia. The roster includes Illinois’ Tyler Inamoto (Barrington) and Sean Dhooghe (Aurora).

The United States is featured in Group B along with Belarus, the Czech Republic, Russia and Sweden and will play the round-robin portion of its schedule at ZS Spišská Nová Ves. Group A consists of Canada, Finland, Latvia, Slovakia and Switzerland.

The U.S. seeks its tenth gold medal in the event after capturing the bronze medal last year in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Team USA has earned 13 straight medals, including gold in six of the past eight tournaments. Overall, the U.S. boasts 14 medals at the IIHF U18 Men’s World Championship, the most of any country.

The U.S. Men’s National Under-18 Team will be led by John Wroblewski (Neenah, Wis.), serving as head coach at his first IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship. Wroblewski is currently in his first season as one of two head coaches at USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program in Plymouth, Michigan.

Previously, Wroblewski earned a gold medal as an assistant coach for the U.S. National Under-18 Team when Team USA claimed first place at the 2010 IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship in Minsk, Belarus.

The U.S. coaching staff also includes assistant coaches Nick Fohr (Grand Forks, N.D.), Seth Appert (Cottage Grove, Minn.) and Greg Moore (Libson, Maine); and goaltending coach Kevin Reiter (Pittsburgh, Pa.).

NOTES: For complete tournament information, including how to purchase tickets, visit U18worlds2017.iihf.com. Team USA News, interviews, highlights and more can be found on the Team USA website … Twenty-one players on the U.S. roster come from USA Hockey’s NTDP. Forward Ryan Poehling (Lakeville, Minn.) is the only player who hails outside of the NTDP. He recently completed his first season of collegiate hockey at St. Cloud State University of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association … Poehling (Jan. 3, 1999) is the oldest player on Team USA, while forward Oliver Wahlstrom (Quincy, Mass.), born June 13, 2000, is the youngest … Twelve different states are represented on the roster. Michigan and Minnesota lead the way with four skaters, while New York has three. Florida and Illinois boast two players each while Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas have one player each … The U.S. enters the tournament having captured a record 13 consecutive medals, including gold medals in six of the last eight years (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015) … Team USA has won nine gold medals all-time, the most of any country in IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship history. The event began in 1999. Team USA earned its first gold medal in 2002 … Follow @USAHockey on Twitter for live scoring updates during the tournament. Scores will be designated with the #U18Worlds tag … For additional coverage, visit the USA Hockey Facebook page and Instagram account.

Categories: Hockey Headlines


%d bloggers like this: