Ask the Official: Serving a Penalty During Intermission

ASK THE OFFICIAL ~ BY DAVE ZEDNIK

 

QUESTION: During a game, one of my players received a penalty which stretched between periods. At the intermission I called the player to the team bench for the team discussion. The referee warned me that the individual had to remain in the penalty box for the duration of the intermission while serving the penalty. A week later I attended my son’s game and observed a similar situation.  In that instance the player was allowed to skate over to the bench for the intermission talk. What is the rule on this issue?

ANSWER: Penalized players may leave the penalty bench during intermissions. However they may not leave the penalty bench during timeouts. If players could not leave the penalty benches during intermission they could not return to the locker room during an intermission while the ice was being resurfaced.



Categories: Officials

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: