Ask AHAI: Can a team bring a goalie not listed on the official AHAI roster if their rostered goalie and BUG are both out of town for the holiday?

QUESTION: In a local holiday tournament, i.e. the Thanksgiving Wishbone Tournament, can a team bring a goalie not listed on the official AHAI roster if their rostered goalie and BUG are both out of town for the holiday?

ANSWER: The quick answer is no, no player, goalie or otherwise, can play in any USA Hockey game if they are not on the Official USA Hockey Certified Roster. If there is an issue as you describe, I would contact AHAI’s registrar, Laura Johnson so that she can help you determine your options. There is a rule in the AHAI Rules and Regulations for Fall Tournament Teams with specific criteria that must be followed. Have your team’s registrar contact Laura Johnson at registrar@ahai2.org  for further details.



Categories: ASK AHAI

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: