Ask the Official: Deliberate Direction of Puck into Net

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics

 

QUESTION: A Team A player is just outside the Team B goal crease. The puck rebounds into the air off the Team B goalie and the Team A player directs the puck into the net with his chest. It did not merely bounce or deflect off his chest. He moved his body to change the direction of the puck toward the net.

ANSWER: Rule 617(c)2 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “A goal shall not be allowed if the following occurs: (2) The puck has been thrown or deliberately directed into the goal by any means other than a stick, even if subsequently deflecting off any player, including goalkeeper, prior to entering the goal.”



Categories: Advice, Ask the Official, Officials

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: