Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame Inducts Nine New Members into the Class of 2017!

Nearly 250 people were present as the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame (IHHF) recently inducted its 13th class of inductees into its Hall of Fame. The honored inductees who were inducted on Sunday, January 28, 2018 at the Belvedere Banquet Hall in Elk Grove were (pictured above back row top left) Rich Blight, Jackie Juliar (for deceased Terry Juliar), Peter Moffat, Gino Cavallini, Harrison Aybar (for Rafe Aybar), Steve Poapst (Front row Left, Jerry Ballard, Carla Juliar (for deceased Terry Juliar), Sheri Wolfe, Made Aybar (for Rafe Aybar) and Jim Neville.

Illinois hockey has a very long and rich hockey history, due in large part, to the foundation laid down by these inductees. Their tireless dedication in making sure every individual who had a desire to participate in this great sport has had the opportunity to do so.

The mission statement of the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame is as follows: “To honor the excellence of those individuals who, through their exceptional endeavors both on and off the ice, have contributed in an extraordinary way to enhance the sport and image of hockey in Illinois.”

You can learn more about the long hockey history each of these individuals has contributed as each member of the Class of 2017 is being featured in the AHAI electronic newsletter Snapshot or visit the AHAI website at

On behalf of everyone involved in the game of hockey, we admire and thank each of the inductees into the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2017. They truly are in a class all their own!

Photo courtesy of Photos by Sully

Categories: Hockey Headlines, Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame, Leadership in the News

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: