2017-18 NIHL Presidents Cup Winners

By Ruben Medina, NIHL Statistician

In many of NIHL’s 25 playing divisions the winner of this season’s Presidents Cup did not get resolved until the last two weekends of the Regular Season. The Presidents Cup has tremendous merit as it is the award for the best record in the division over the course of the entire Regular Season. In a few divisions the NIHL tie-breaking rules were needed to separate the Presidents Cup winner from the other teams they were tied with on points.

Five of these Presidents Cup teams went the distance and did not lose a single game all season long, although all five played to a Tie at least once.

The teams capturing the Presidents Cup will each receive a special banner emblematic of their accomplishment, and special Presidents Cup caps for the players and coaches.

These teams have each earned the No. 1 Seeds in their divisions for the upcoming NIHL Blackhawks Tournament. That becomes the new bullseye each of them have in their sights. It will be interesting to watch and see which of these teams can carry their momentum forward deep into the tournament.

Good luck to our NIHL Presidents Cup winners, and to all our teams who have qualified for the 2018 NIHL Blackhawks Tournament.

* Presidents Cup winners who were undefeated during the NIHL Regular Season

Categories: Hockey Headlines, Tier II Hockey

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: