Top-10 Finalists Named for 2018 Patty Kazmaier Award – Includes Illinois’ Savannah Harmon

21st Annual Award to be Presented March 17th in Minneapolis

By USA Hockey 

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The USA Hockey Foundation announced the top-10 finalists for the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. The honor is bestowed annually upon the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey, and this year will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota, on Saturday, March 17, as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four weekend hosted by the University of Minnesota.

The top-10 finalists include: senior forward Victoria Bach (Milton, Ont./Boston University), senior defender Sydney Baldwin (Minnetonka, Minn./University of Minnesota), sophomore goaltender Kristen Campbell (Brandon, Man./University of Wisconsin), junior forward Loren Gabel (Kitchener, Ont./Clarkson University), senior defender Savannah Harmon (Downers Grove, Ill./Clarkson University), senior forward Brittany Howard (St. Thomas, Ont./Robert Morris University), sophomore forward Caitrin Lonergan (Roslindale, Mass./Boston College), senior defender Toni Ann Miano (Bronx, N.Y./Boston College), senior goaltender Shea Tiley (Owen Sound, Ont./Clarkson University) and freshman forward Daryl Watts (Toronto, Ont./Boston College).

The selection process commenced earlier this month when NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by multiple coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top-10 finalists. The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States. The top-three finalists will be announced on Thursday, March 1.

Tickets to the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony and Brunch can be purchased at here. Individual seats to the event are $65, while tables of 10 are available for $600. A select number of sponsorships and program advertisements are also available.

Notes: Six schools are represented in the top-10, including three finalists each for Boston College and Clarkson University… Among the top-10 finalists are five forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders, including six seniors, two sophomores, one junior and one freshman … The Hockey East Association leads all conferences with four finalists, while ECAC Hockey boasts three finalists, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association has two finalists and College Hockey America has one finalist.

Savannah Harmon

Defense • Clarkson University • Senior • Downers Grove, Ill.

ECAC’s Top scoring defenseman with 29 points (8G, 21A) through 34 games and the second leading scorer for defensemen in the NCAA … Posts the best plus/minus for ECAC Hockey defensemen (+43) also ranking second nationally in overall plus/minus for defensemen, while being the NCAA’s 4th highest +/- for all skaters … Tied for 3rd among NCAA defensemen in assists (21) and 8th among all skaters in the ECAC for assists (13) … 2 year Team Captain … Leads the Golden Knights defense that ranks 2nd in the NCAA at (1.24) and anchors the 3rd ranked penalty kill (.900) …Clarkson’s 2nd highest scoring defenseman in schools history (108pts) … Involved with community service efforts at  Potsdam Elementary School, Community Outreach clean-up, Lil’ Knights Club,  and helped organized the National Girls and Women’s in Sport Day clinic…Majoring in Innovation and Entrepreneurship with a 2.99 GPA.

Categories: Alumni in the News, Girls' Hockey, Hockey Headlines, Players in the News

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: