2018 Wirtz Cup Sled HockeyTournament


By Michael Durkin

The Scott R. Triphahn Community Center & Ice Arena, which is one of a handful of rinks in the United States with Sled Hockey compatibility, hosted the 10th Annual Wirtz Cup Sled Hockey Tournament.

The Wirtz Cup is the Championship Tournament for the Midwest Sled Hockey League headquartered in Chicago, Illinois.  The league is comprised of the RIC Blackhawks, the St. Louis Blues, the Colorado Avalanche and San Antonio Rampage.

The league was founded to support the needs and aspirations of Disabled Adult Hockey Players.  In fact, 12 players from the League are representing the United States on the USA Hockey Men’s Gold Medal Paralympic team. In addition, one woman from the league Erica Mitchell represented the USA Hockey Women’s Paralympic team. Congratulations to the Colorado Avalanche this year’s Champion as well as the San Antonio Rampage this year’s runner up!!

Categories: Disabled Hockey

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: