Ask the Official: 2 Minute Penalty with a 10 Minute Misconduct – Do They Run Concurrently?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: If a player is assessed a 2 min penalty with a 10 min misconduct, you need to put another player in the penalty box to serve the 2 min penalty and the offending player serves the 10 min penalty, correct? Do these penalties run concurrently or do you have to wait for 2 min penalty to expire before the 10 min penalty starts to run. If this is the case the offending player would actually serve 12 mins. Is this correct?

ANSWER: If a player receives a Minor and Misconduct penalty he must serve the entire twelve minutes (2+10) consecutively. The additional player his team must place in the box is serving the shorthanded time (not the Minor itself). Since the Minor penalty must be served first (and posted on the penalty clock) the additional player is in the box so their team will have someone available to leave the penalty box and enter the game at the end of the Minor.

If the opposing team scores during the shorthanded Minor penalty time, the Minor is immediately terminated and the Misconduct penalty begins. In other words, the player who received the penalties will be released at the first whistle after ten minutes after the goal.



Categories: Ask the Official

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: