Illinois West High School Hockey Leagues Completes Another Successful Season

By Brian Meek

Illinois West High School Hockey has completed another successful season. All twenty-eight teams competed well and eleven players were recognized as “All State”.

All State Recognition

Vincent Sansone – Glenbard
Hayden Muehlbacher – Lincoln Way
Bryce Schrofer – Lincoln Way
Ben Granato – Neuqua Valley
Liam Burns – Oak Park River Forest
Max Goldstein – Oak Park River Forest
Spencer Smith – Oak Park River Forest
Cade Kenyon – Waubonsie
Zachary Pearce – Waubonsie
Conor Tully – Wheaton West
Nathan Rutledge – Wheaton West

Six teams advanced to the final four in State.

Varsity Combined

Varsity White
Lake Park

JV Combined
Wheaton West

Illinois West had two teams advance to the State finals, Waubonsie in the Combined Varsity bracket and Wheaton West in the Combined Junior Varsity bracket. Wheaton West Combined Junior Varsity produced a State Champion effort. Congratulations to Wheaton West!

It was a very solid season for Illinois West players. In addition to the many accolades the players received for their on ice efforts, West awarded over sixty four percent of all players Academic Achievement awards. Additionally Illinois West players this year earned league awards for their off ice leadership and achievements. Awards earned included:

Illinois West Scholastic Achievement Award
Peter Gonzalez – OPRF Hockey Club
Stefan Theiss – Lyons Township

Illinois West Humanitarian Award for Community Service
Kyle Dingle – Lincoln-Way
Alex Dimitriou – Hinsdale Central
Alex Lee – Waubonsie Valley
Jason Brooks – Naperville Central
Conor Donlevy – Hinsdale Central
Mackendzie Crawford – Glenbard
Jack Hemmingway – Neuqua Valley

Illinois West Award for Leadership Award
Elijah Felton – Glenbard
John Sommerfeld – Lyons Township

Illinois West Sportsmanship Award
Liam Burns – OPRF Hockey Club
Sam Stapleton – Hinsdale Central

Illinois West Coaching Awards

Illinois West Varsity Coach of the Year
Dave Dyson – OPRF Hockey Club

Illinois West Junior Varsity Coach of the Year
Matt Tokarz – Wheaton West

Illinois West Presidents’ Award for Coaching Excellence
Keith Fahrforth – Wheaton West

Illinois West Coaches Recognition Dedication Award –
Recognition for Building and Growing the Hockey Club
Jim Swoyer – Hinsdale Central

As West traditionally does, a Goalie Clinic was offered a week before tryouts. This season, over forty goalies from all our schools participated. Our All-Star game was held after the West playoffs finished with eighty players for Varsity and Junior Varsity along with six goalies at each level. Very spirited games at both levels ensued.

Illinois West looks forward to next year for another strong season.

Categories: High School, Hockey Headlines

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: