By Dave Zednik, IHOA Rules & Ethics Chairman
QUESTION: During a stoppage of play, both teams change players. Immediately after the start of the play, one of the On-Ice Officials notices that one of the teams has too many players on the ice and stops play. Should the Referee assess a bench minor penalty?
ANSWER: No. Rule Reference 204(a). It is the responsibility of the On-Ice Officials to see that each team has the correct number of players on the ice before the puck is dropped. In this case, play must be stopped the moment the Officials become aware of the fact that there are too many players on the ice.
Categories: AHAI, Ask the Official, IHOA