Illinois Players, Leaders & Associations Recognized at USA Hockey’s Annual Night of Tribute & President’s Awards Dinners

USA Hockey recently honored dedicated volunteers and affiliate leaders at its Annual Night of Tribute Dinner (June 6) and President’s Award Dinner (June 8) at the 2018 USA Hockey Annual Congress in Colorado Springs, CO. AHAI congratulates Patrick Kane, Paul Jakubowski, Laura Johnson, Keri Zschach and the Central Illinois Girls Hockey Association on being honored during these prestigious annual dinners.


USA HOCKEY SERVICE AWARDS: Paul Jakubowski & Laura Johnson

The continued growth and development of USA Hockey would not be possible without the contributions of a network of dedicated volunteer field personnel. These individuals share in USA Hockey’s success and accomplishments year after year. Their selfless work and commitment continue to make a difference in the sport of hockey and in the lives of the people who play the game. USA Hockey annually recognizes the outstanding contributions of national- and district-level volunteers who have served at least 5 years with the organization as a district registrar, associate registrar, coach-in-chief, risk manager, section representative or member of the board of directors. Council and committee members began to accumulate official years of service during the 1999-2000 season while affiliate presidents’ accrual began in 2008-09.

Paul Jakubowski
SafeSport Coordinator (2013-2018)

Laura Johnson
Associate Registrar, Central District (2008-18)
Disabled Hockey Section (2014-18)

Since 2005, USA Hockey has annually recognized select individuals who are deemed up-and-coming leaders within a USA Hockey affiliate with the New Leader Award. Recipients contribute to growing and/or improving hockey within the affiliate and have a position of influence on activities within the affiliate.

FEMALE HONORS AWARD: Central Illinois Girls Hockey Association
The Female Honors Award, established in 2013, annually recognizes one association per USA Hockey district that is a leader in the growth, development and promotion of ice hockey for females.


The President’s Awards Dinner is a gathering to celebrate and honor deserving individuals who have been long-standing contributors to the sport of ice hockey, and are a reflection of the excellence and dedication that are the foundation of USA Hockey.


In 2018, Patrick Kane further enhanced his reputation for springtime brilliance, becoming the first American to earn most valuable player honors at the IIHF Men’s World Championship.

Kane led all tournament scorers with 20 points (8G, 12A) in 10 games, setting United States records for both points (20) and assists (12). Among his team-leading eight goals were three game-winners, including preliminary round tallies against Germany and Korea, plus the decisive strike against the Czech Republic in the quarterfinals. He also figured in the bronze medal-clinching goal, registering the lone assist on a Nick Bonino marker that spurred Team USA to a 4-1 win over Canada in the tournament finale. It was the Americans’ second victory over their neighbors to the north in a span of 17 days, marking the first time that a U.S. team scored multiple triumphs over Canada during a single IIHF Men’s World Championship.

In addition to being named tournament MVP, Kane was also selected to the IIHF Media All-Star Team for his high-scoring efforts in captaining Team USA to its third medal at the event since 2013 – a run of success unmatched since 1950.

A three-time Stanley Cup champion with the Chicago Blackhawks, Kane now holds the distinction of being the first American player to earn the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer, the first to earn the Hart Memorial Trophy as the league’s MVP, and the first to earn MVP honors at the IIHF Men’s World Championship. He has represented the U.S. on seven occasions in international competition, including twice at the Olympics and once in the World Cup of Hockey, accumulating five medals.

In 2017, the NHL named Kane to its list of 100 Greatest NHL Players, a fitting honor bookended by his dominant international tour de force in red, white and blue.

The Bob Johnson Award, presented by Nike, recognizes excellence in international hockey competition during a specific season of play.

Categories: AHAI, Awards and Honors, Chicago Blackhawks, USA Hockey News, Youth Hockey

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: