Ask the Official: Stoppage of play and injured player

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Rules & Ethics Chairman


QUESTION: The Referee stops play for an apparent injury to a player. If the player is not injured, must he leave the ice?

ANSWER: Yes. Rule Reference 206(a). Anytime play is stopped for what the official deems to have been an injured player, that player must leave the ice until play has resumed. This is the case even when the official was overly cautious in stopping play and the player recovers quickly.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: