Ask the Official: Coach using iPad on the bench

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Rules & Ethics Chairman


QUESTION: During a game, a coach uses an iPad to capture game video to coach his players. After a big hit, the coach calls the referee over to the bench to discuss the hit and show him the video. After receiving a bench minor penalty, may the coach continue to use the iPad on the bench?

ANSWER: Yes, a bench minor penalty must be assessed for using an electronic device to dispute an official’s call. However, the coach may continue to use the iPad as a coaching tool on the bench.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: