Warren Strelow National Team Goaltending Camp Invitees Announced; List Includes Illinois’ Bernard, Mor & Rowe

By USAHockey.com

PLYMOUTH, Michigan — The 11th annual Warren Strelow National Team Goaltending Camp, which features many of the top United States goaltenders eligible for international play, opens Tuesday (Aug. 14) in Plymouth, Michigan, at USA Hockey Arena. The list of invitees includes Illinois’ Jackson Bernard (Huntley), Jonathan Mor (Highland Park) and Cameron Rowe (Wilmette). The camp is named after the late Warren Strelow, a former NHL goalie coach who served in that same capacity for the 1980 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team.

The elite four-day camp will cover both physical and mental aspects of goaltending, helping each of the 27 invitees master the fundamentals of the position while developing a personal identity that translates to in-game success.

The camp will be led by Thomas Speer, U.S. National Team goaltending coach, Phil Osaer, American Development Model goaltending manager at USA Hockey, and regional scouts Brennan Poderzay and Jared Waimon. In addition, camp senior staff will include Joe Exter (assistant coach, Michigan State University), David Lassonde (assistant coach, Dartmouth University/U.S. National Junior Team), Kevin Reiter (director of player personnel, USA Hockey NTDP) and Nick Petraglia (assistant coach, Miami University of Ohio). Additional camp coaching staff include Peter Aubry (Chicago Blackhawks), Scott Clemmensen (New Jersey Devils), Jeff Salajko (Detroit Red Wings), Alex Westlund (Washington Capitals), Mike Buckley (Pittsburgh Penguins), Larry Clemens (Janesville Jets), Brian Eklund (Boston University), Michael Garman (Chicago Steel), Karl Goehring (Tampa Bay Lightning), Brian Renfrew (Winnipeg Jets), Josh Robinson (Florida Everblades), Dave Rogaliski (St. Louis Blues) and Zach Cisek (University of Notre Dame).

For the first time in camp history, USA Hockey invited current professionals to participate in the camp, allowing them to prepare for their upcoming season while also creating an organic mentorship for the next generation of future NHL American goalies. The list of current professionals participating includeJimmy Howard (Detroit Red Wings), Zane McIntyre (Providence Bruins), Phoenix Copley(Washington Capitals), Charlie Lindgren (Montreal Canadiens); Collin Delia (Rockford Ice Hogs), Jake Oettinger (Boston University), and Joseph Woll (Boston College).

NOTES: Seven goalies are from the 1999, 2000, and 2002 birth class while six goaltenders on the camp roster are from the 2001 birth class. Fourteen states are represented on the roster. Michigan leads the way with five goaltenders, while Illinois, Massachusetts and New Jersey boast three apiece. Alaska, Minnesota, and New York each have two, and Florida, Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin each have one.

Categories: Hockey Headlines, Player Development, USA Hockey News

Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: