USA Hockey Announces Roster and Schedule for 2018 U.S. Women’s National Team Evaluation Camp: Includes Illinois’ Bozek, Coyne Schofield, Compher & Gardner

Evaluation Camp to be held Sept. 13-17 in Biddeford, Maine

By USA Hockey

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey today announced the 37 players who will participate in the 2018 U.S. Women’s National Team Evaluation Camp, which will take place Sept. 13-17 at the Harold Alfond Forum on the campus of the University of New England in Biddeford, Maine. The camp roster includes Illinois’ Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove), Jesse Compher (Northbrook), Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights) and Mikaela Gardner (Plainfield).

The camp will be utilized to evaluate player progression and provide training guidelines as players prepare for upcoming opportunities with the U.S. Women’s National Team. Players will be split into two teams and participate in three intrasquad scrimmages as part of the camp.

“We are excited to welcome 37 highly skilled players from across the country to the 2018 U.S. Women’s National Team Evaluation Camp,” said Reagan Carey, USA Hockey director of women’s hockey. “The roster contains a mix of veteran players who’ve played at the highest level for Team USA, as well as some emerging talent from the NCAA and professional leagues that we’re excited to see come and compete.”

The 37-player roster is highlighted by 18 members of the gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, including Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif.), Kacey Bellamy (Westfield, Mass.), Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minn.), Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minn.), Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights, Ill.), Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.), Kali Flanagan (Hudson, N.H.), Nicole Hensley (Lakewood, Colo.), Megan Keller (Farmington Hills, Mich.), Amanda Kessel (Madison, Wis.), Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho), Gigi Marvin (Warroad, Minn.), Sidney Morin (Minnetonka, Minn.) Kelly Pannek (Plymouth, Minn.), Amanda Pelkey (Montpelier, Vt.), Alex Rigsby (Delafield, Wis.), Maddie Rooney (Andover, Minn.) and Haley Skarupa (Rockville, Md.). The roster also includes members of the 2017-18 U.S. Women’s National Team Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill.) and Annie Pankowski (Laguna Hills, Calif.), as well as 2014 Olympic silver medalist Shelly Picard (Taunton, Mass.).

The 37 players represent 16 different states, with Minnesota leading the pack with 11 representatives, followed by Massachusetts and Illinois with four apiece. Wisconsin has three representatives, California, Michigan and New York, each have two, and Alaska, Connecticut, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maryland, Missouri, New Hampshire and Vermont all have one representative.

A complete roster (20 forwards, 12 defensemen and five goaltenders) and full camp schedule are available here.

NOTES: Reagan Carey (Colorado Springs, Colo.), USA Hockey director of women’s hockey, is serving as the general manager for the 2018-19 U.S. Women’s National Team. For the complete staff roster, click here… The intrasquad scrimmages are open to the public at no charge, and an autograph session with select members of the gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team will be held following the scrimmage on Saturday, Sept. 15.

For more info, contact Andrea Mazzarelli ( 719.538.1169)

Categories: Girls' Hockey, Hockey Headlines, USA Hockey News

Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: