2018-19 U.S. Sled Teams Training Schedules Unveiled

U.S. National, U.S. Women’s Development and U.S. Men’s Development Teams To Host Training Camps Throughout the U.S.

The 2018-19 training camp schedules for the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, the U.S. Men’s Development Sled Hockey Team and U.S. Women’s Development Sled Hockey Team were unveiled today by USA Hockey. In total, the three teams will host a total of 11 camps in eight different states. The U.S. National Sled Hockey Team roster includes Illinois Kevin McKee (Chicago) and Brody Roybal (Northlake) and the U.S. Women’s Development Sled Hockey Team roster includes Chicago’s Erica Mitchell.

The 2018-19 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team will host five training camps, beginning with its season-opening camp in Las Vegas, Nev., from Oct. 4-7. That camp will coincide with USA Hockey’s Disabled Hockey Workshop and the third annual USA Hockey Warrior Classic, presented by Terry Fator. Additionally, the team’s training camp in Madison, Wis., set for Oct. 28-Nov. 4, will include co-training sessions and scrimmages with the Norway national sled hockey team.

The 2018-19 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team will be coached by David Hoff (Bottineau, N.D.), who was an assistant coach on last year’s gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. The roster, which includes notable returnees in forwards Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.) and Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.); defenseman Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.); and goaltender Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.), can be found here.

Combined, the 2018-19 U.S. Women’s Development Sled Hockey Team and 2018-19 U.S. Men’s Development Sled Hockey Team will hold four training camps, including two together. The first camp, which will take place Sept. 27-30 and feature both teams, will be held at USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, Mich.

The 2018-19 U.S. Women’s Development Sled Hockey Team will be led by head coach Shawna Davidson (Duluth, Minn.), a three-time U.S. Women’s National Team silver medalist, while the 2018-19 U.S. Men’s Development Sled Hockey Team will be coached by 2002 Paralympic gold medalist Kip St. Germaine (East Falmouth, Mass.).

NOTES: Deloitte, Labatt USA and Toyota are proud sponsors of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team … Competitions and tournaments for all three teams will be announced in the coming weeks … Since 2009, the U.S. has played in eight consecutive gold-medal games at the Paralympic and World Championship level. In that span, the U.S. is 6-2 and has claimed three Paralympic gold medals (2010, 2014, 2018) and three world championship gold medals (2009, 2012, 2015) … USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.

Categories: Disabled Hockey, Hockey Headlines, USA Hockey News

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: