Ask the Official: Which team’s center must place the stick first on the ice for any face-off conducted at the center ice face-off spot?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: Which team’s center must place the stick first on the ice for any face-off conducted at the center ice face-off spot?

ANSWER: The visiting team’s center must place the stick on the ice first. Rule Reference 613(a). In all face-offs not conducted along the center red line, the attacking team’s center must be the first to place the stick on the ice.



Categories: Ask the Official, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: