Ask the Official: For a tripping penalty to be assessed, must the fouled player fall to the ice?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: For a tripping penalty to be assessed, must the fouled player fall to the ice?

ANSWER: No. Rule Reference 639(Note). The Rule uses the words “trip or fall” to describe the offense. In the case where a player does not fall, it must be clearly obvious his progress was impeded and a competitive advantage was gained as a result of the tripping action.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: