Ask the Official: Is a tripping penalty assessed when defending player leaves his feet and slides into the puck carrier?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: A defending player leaves his feet and slides into the puck carrier. The defending player gains possession of the puck and the attacking player falls to the ice after being hit by the defending player’s body. Should a penalty be assessed?

ANSWER: Yes. Rule Reference 639(Note 3 & a). When a player leaves his feet and slides into an opponent, thereby causing him to fall, a penalty for tripping must be called regardless of who gains possession of the puck. The only exception is when a player drops to his knees to block a shot and his momentum carries him into the player shooting the puck, causing him to fall. In that event, no penalty is to be assessed.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: