USA Hockey Women’s Winter Training Camp Roster Set; Includes Illinois’ Bozek, Coyne Schofield, Compher & Harmon

Camp to be held Dec. 17-21 at USA Hockey Arena

By USA Hockey
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey today announced the 44 players that will participate in the 2018 USA Hockey Women’s Winter Training Camp, which will take place Dec. 17-21 at USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, Michigan. The roster includes Illinois’ Megan Bozek, Jesse Compher, Kendall Coyne Schofield and Savannah Harmon.

The annual training camp serves as an opportunity to help the top players prepare for upcoming international events, including the 2019 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

Highlighting the roster for the Women’s Winter Training Camp are 22 members of the championship-winning 2018 Four Nations Cup roster, as well as 22 Olympians.

Of the 22 Olympians, 19 were members of the gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, including Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif.), Kacey Bellamy (Westfield, Mass.), Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minn.), Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minn.), Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights, Ill.), Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.), Kali Flanagan (Hudson, N.H.), Nicole Hensley (Lakewood, Colo.), Megan Keller (Farmington Hills, Mich.), Amanda Kessel(Madison, Wis.), Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho), Gigi Marvin (Warroad, Minn.), Sidney Morin(Minnetonka, Minn.), Kelly Pannek (Plymouth, Minn.), Amanda Pelkey (Montpelier, Vt.), Emily Pfalzer (Buffalo, N.Y.), Alex Rigsby (Delafield, Wis.), Maddie Rooney (Andover, Minn.) and Lee Stecklein (Roseville, Minn.), while 2014 Olympic silver medalists Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass.) and Shelly Picard (Taunton, Mass.) will also participate in the camp.

Of the 44 players on the roster, 20 are postgraduate players competing in professional leagues during the 2018-19 season, 23 are active NCAA players and one player competes in high school.

Players invited to the camp represent 17 states, with Minnesota leading the way with 14 athletes calling the State of Hockey home. Massachusetts follows with five players, while Illinois has four, and New York and Wisconsin each have three. Alaska, California and Michigan have two representatives, while Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota and Vermont each have one.

A complete roster (14 defense, 24 forwards, 6 goaltenders), staff listing and on-ice schedule can be found here.

NOTES: All practices and scrimmages associated with the 2018 USA Hockey Women’s Winter Training Camp will be open to the public. Members of the media can register for a credential here.

Categories: Girls' Hockey, Hockey Headlines, Illinois Hockey, USA Hockey News

Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: