IHSHL Hayes Suburban Division Announces New Board of Directors

By Steve Silvey

The Illinois High School Hockey League, Hayes Suburban Division is excited to announce the election of its Board of Directors who will guide the Division for the remainder of the 2018-2019 and the entirety of the 2019-2020 seasons.

The Hayes Suburban Division represents one of the longest continuous high school leagues in the state. Now in its 46th season, the Cougar Cup Championship is one of the oldest trophies in Illinois High School Hockey.

Player participation in high school hockey is trending upward. The new Board will help grow the Division in the years to come and to continue the Cougar Cup tradition.

The Board is comprised of 7 new members

Rob Ince – President
Beth Hippman – Secretary/Treasurer
Amy Newling – Vice President
Jim Waterson – Rules & Ethics
Ed Urban – Director
Bob Gerecke – Director
Bryan Countryman – Director
Ron Abels – Director Emeritus

The Board would like to express immense gratitude and special thanks to Ron Abels for his many years of passion, dedication and service; recognizing his outstanding contributions over the years which allowed this Division to continue during the transition from Founder, Past President and Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame Member, George Hayes.  The Board also welcomes Ron in his new role as Director Emeritus during this transition.  Ron has vast knowledge and understanding of the hard work and dedication that is needed to run a high school hockey division and the Board values his continued input and guidance.

The Hayes Suburban Division will carry on the grand tradition that started with George Hayes and continued with Ron Abels.

Categories: High School, Hockey Headlines, Leadership in the News

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: