Ask the Official: 1 Penalty Shot or 2?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: If the ref calls a penalty shot during a breakaway for a “fouled from behind” foul but the attacking player gets up and the goalie throws his stick toward the puck as the attacking player chases the puck into the corner, can you award 2 penalty shots or is it just one.

ANSWER: While two rule infractions occurred in your situation the officials may only award one penalty shot since only one scoring opportunity was lost. The officials should award a penalty shot to the player who was fouled, and then assess a minor penalty to the goalkeeper for throwing the stick.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: