Ask the Official: Coincidental Penalties

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: In a case where coincidental penalties are called but one of the penalized players receives a double minor, how many players are placed in the penalty boxes?

ANSWER: Players must always serve the entire time of the penalties they earn. In the case where two opposing players receive coincidental minors, they must enter the penalty bench and they are immediately substituted for (play remains 5 v. 5). If one player receives an additional minor penalty, then that team must immediately play shorthanded. Therefore, that team must place an additional player in the penalty bench so they have someone eligible to return to the ice once play returns to 5 v. 5 (the other player must sit his full four minutes).

The short answer is three players enter the penalty bench, the two penalized players and an additional player to return to the ice after two minutes.



Categories: Ask the Official

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: