Ask the Official: Referee Makes a Mistake by Calling Icing

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: If a referee makes a mistake by calling icing, where does the puck get dropped? I always thought when a referee makes a mistake the puck is dropped at center ice.

ANSWER: Rule 624(c) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “If the Officials shall have erred in calling an “icing the puck” infraction (regardless of whether either team is shorthanded) a last play face-off (end zone face-off spot nearest to the location of the puck when play was stopped) shall occur.”

 



Categories: Ask the Official

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: