Ask the Official: Disallowing a Goal

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: Can the referee disallow a goal after awarding and then noticing the net dislodged? We have had two instances of a referee awarding, pointing at the net, blowing their whistle, and then disallowing the goal after noticing the net was dislodged.

ANSWER: A dislodged goal must result in an immediate stoppage. Therefore, the officials should disallow any goal they believe entered the net after the goal was moved from its normal position.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, Officials

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: