Illinois’ Rowe, Vlasic & Lindmark Included in the Twenty-One Players Added to 2019 Under-18 Men’s National Team Roster

2019 IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship To Be Held April 18-28

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — USA Hockey today announced the roster for the U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team that will compete at the 2019 International Ice Hockey Federation Under-18 Men’s World Championship from April 18-28, in Umeå and Örnsköldsvik, Sweden. The roster includes Illinois’ Cameron Rowe (Wilmette), Alex Vlasic (Wilmette) and Owen Lindmark (Naperville).

Team USA will play its preliminary-round games in Group B along with Sweden, Russia, Slovakia and Latvia and will play the round-robin portion of its schedule at the Fjallraven Center in Örnsköldsvik. Group A consists of Belarus, Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland and Switzerland.

The U.S. seeks its 11th gold medal in the event after capturing its tournament record 10th gold medal in 2017 in Poprad and Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia. Team USA has earned 15 straight medals, including gold in seven of the past ten tournaments. Overall, the U.S. boasts 16 medals at the IIHF U18 Men’s World Championship, the most of any country.

The U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team will be led by John Wroblewski (Neenah, Wis.), serving for the second time as head coach at the IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship.

For the full roster, click here.

NOTES: Team USA news, interviews, highlights and more can be found at … For the official IIHF home for the U18 Men’s World Championship, visit  … All 21 players on the U.S. roster come from USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program … Four players who won a silver medal for Team USA at the 2018 IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship are represented on the roster including Cole Caufield (Stevens Points, Wis.), Jack Hughes (Orlando, Fla.), Spencer Knight (Darien, Conn.) and Cam York (Anaheim Hills, Calif.) … Twelve different states are represented on the roster. Massachusetts and New York lead the way with five skaters, Illinois follows with three, and Connecticut, California, Florida, Indiana, Minnesota, New Jersey, North Dakota, Wisconsin and Texas have one player each …  The U.S. enters the tournament having captured a record 15 consecutive medals, including gold medals in seven of the last ten years (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2017) … Team USA has won 10 gold medals all-time, the most of any country in IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship history. The event began in 1999. Team USA earned its first gold medal in 2002 … Follow @USAHockey on Twitter for live scoring updates during the tournament. Scores will be designated with the #U18Worlds tag … For additional coverage, visit the USA Hockey Facebook page and Instagram account.) … USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.

Categories: Hockey Headlines

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: