Ask the Official: Substituting a Goalkeeper & Warm-Up Shots

By Dave Zednik, IHOA VP of Rules & Ethics


QUESTION: If a team elects to change their goalkeeper, are they allowed to take some warm-up shots before play resumes?

ANSWER: A team may substitute their goalkeeper during any stoppage, but they must use their time-out to warm the goalkeeper up. The only exception is if the team changes goalkeepers during the opposing team’s time-out (in which case they may use that time-out for a warm-up).



Categories: ASK AHAI

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: