Ask the Official: Disallowing a Goal

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A goal is scored; however, before the play resumes the Linesman notifies the Referee that the play should have been called for icing. What should the Referee do?

ANSWER: The Referee must disallow the goal and the face-off would take place at the normal icing face-off spot. Rule Reference 502(a).

Although procedurally, the icing situation was not handled correctly, the obligation of the officials is to do their best to make the right call.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: