Ask the Official: Major Penalty Infraction Occurs Unseen by Referee

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A Linesman has determined that a major penalty infraction has occurred unseen by the Referee and is waiting for the next stoppage of play to report to the Referee. The next stoppage of play occurs when the offending team scores a goal, whereupon the Linesman reports his version of the infraction. The Referee concurs that a major penalty should be assessed. What procedures does the Referee follow?

ANSWER: Disallow the goal and assess the penalty. Rule References 502(c) and 503(e).

Linesmen cannot stop play, but must wait for the first stoppage of play to report their version of the incident to the Referee.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: