Chicago Blackhawks Claim Tier V USA Hockey Sled Classic Championship Title

By USA Hockey – The Boston Bruins, Pittsburgh Penguins, Tampa Bay Lightning, Detroit Red Wings and Chicago Blackhawks each earned titles Sunday (Nov. 24) at the 10th annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL.

The four-day event that began last Thursday (Nov. 21) was hosted by the St. Louis Blues in the St. Louis suburb of Maryland Heights, Missouri, at Centene Community Ice Center. The field included a record 31 teams associated with 19 NHL clubs.

“Once again Chicago stood out at the USA Hockey Sled Classic with another championship title and a 2nd place banner,” said Michael Svac, USA Hockey Central District Disabled Hockey Representative.  A total of 19 hockey players from the Chicago Blackhawks competed during the four day event to play some great hockey.

  • The Chicago Blackhawks brought home a 2nd place banner at the Tier I division, dropping the championship game 2-5 to the Boston Bruins sled team. Click HERE for complete game results. The Chicago Blackhawks Tier I roster included: Walter Wyder, Frank Pierson, Erica Mitchell, Kevin McKee, Justin Kreger, Mike Kiefer, Tyrone Johnson, Joseph Gugliotta and Travis Dodson.
  • The Chicago Blackhawks brought home a Championship banner at the Tier V division, topping the Pittsburgh Penguins 3-2 on Sunday, November 24 at the Centene Community Ice Center. Click HERE for game summary. The Blackhawks Tier V roster included: Paul Sullivan, Sumer Smith, Jonathan Satter, Matthew Parrilli, Paul Kosson, Gerald Iglesias, Kevin Hanusin, John French, John Benway, and Nathaniel Amos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Boston Bruins and the Detroit Red Wings each earned their first division title in event history. The Bruins defeated the Chicago Blackhawks, 5-2, to earn the O’Connor Courage Trophy, significant of capturing the Tier I championship, while the Red Wings defeated the Tampa Bay Lightning, 5-1, in the Tier IV championship. The Lightning secured the Tier III title after defeating the Anaheim Ducks, 2-0, while the Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the Edmonton Oilers, 4-2, in the Tier II championship. The Chicago Blackhawks, who had two teams represented in championship games, claimed the Tier V championship title by defeating the Penguins, 3-2, to close out the competition on Sunday. For full tournament results and statistics, click here.

In addition to the record number of competing teams, the event included nearly 350 skaters representing 19 NHL clubs across five divisions. Of those 350 participants, 36 are current members of the U.S. National Sled Hockey TeamU.S. Men’s Development Sled Hockey Team and U.S. Women’s Development Sled Hockey Team.

In addition to the five championship-winning clubs, other NHL clubs represented at the event included the Anaheim Ducks, Buffalo Sabres, Calgary Flames, Carolina Hurricanes, Colorado Avalanche, Columbus Blue Jackets, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, New York Islanders, Philadelphia Flyers, St. Louis Blues and Vegas Golden Knights. Each team represented their associated NHL club by wearing official NHL jerseys with local club marks and logos.

The Boston Bruins and the Detroit Red Wings became the 16th and 17th different NHL club to win a division title in the event’s 10-year history while the Blackhawks’ Tier V crown brings their total division titles to five, which surpasses the Colorado Avalanche for the most among all NHL clubs at the event. Other NHL clubs to capture a division title in tournament play include the Arizona Coyotes, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Edmonton Oilers, Florida Panthers, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, Pittsburgh Penguins, Philadelphia Flyers, Tampa Bay Lightning and Washington Capitals.

NOTES: The Nashville Predators had four associated teams in this year’s USA Hockey Sled Classic, while the Colorado Avalanche, Edmonton Oilers and Tampa Bay Lightning each had three teams … Last season, the Chicago Blackhawks hosted the tournament in Chicago where the Colorado Avalanche captured the Tier I Division, the Nashville Predators claimed the Tier II crown, the Philadelphia Flyers won the Tier III Division and the Tampa Bay Lightning captured the Tier IV and Tier V divisions … Previous NHL teams to host the event include the Colorado Avalanche (2010-11: Denver, Colo.); Philadelphia Flyers (2011-12: Voorhees, N.J.); Buffalo Sabres (2012-13: Williamsville, N.Y.); Pittsburgh Penguins (2013-14: Pittsburgh, Pa.); Washington Capitals (2014-15: Arlington, Va.); Florida Panthers (2015-16: Sunrise, Fla.); Nashville Predators (2016-17: Antioch, Tenn.); Minnesota Wild (2017-18: Minneapolis, Minn.); and the Chicago Blackhawks (2018-19: Chicago)… For more information on the sport of sled hockey, click here.


Categories: Disabled Hockey, featured, Hockey Headlines, Players in the News

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: