2020 U.S. National Junior Team Preliminary Roster Unveiled; Roster Includes Illinois’ Drury, Pivonka & Turcotte

Twenty-Eight Players to Attend Camp Dec. 16-17 in Plymouth, Mich.

By USA Hockey – USA Hockey today named 28 players to the preliminary roster of its 2020 U.S. National Junior Team. The roster includes Illinois’ Jack Drury (Winnetka), Jacob Pivonka (Naperville) and Alex Turcotte (Chicago). The group includes four members of the silver medal-winning 2019 U.S. National Junior Team. The roster announcement was made live on NHL Network’s NHL Now.

The group is auditioning for a spot on the final 23-player roster that will represent the United States in the 2020 World Junior Championship from Dec. 26, 2019 – Jan. 5, 2020, in Ostrava and Trinec, Czech Republic.

Click HERE for U.S. Preliminary Roster

 Click HERE for Team USA schedule.

“We were able to assemble a roster with great balance of youth and experience and we’re thrilled with the potential of this group,” said John Vanbiesbrouck, general manager of the 2020 U.S. National Junior Team and also the assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. “We had a deep player pool to select from, and that’s credit to all the organizations and volunteers developing the next wave of U.S. hockey stars. I know [head coach] Scott Sandelin and his staff are excited to bring these players together at camp as we begin the challenge of creating a final roster that will give us the best chance to bring home a gold medal.”

The 28 players, comprised of players born in 2000 or later, come from 13 different states. A total of 23 of the players are currently playing college hockey, including 11 from the Big Ten Conference.

NOTES: Media wishing to attend the pre-tournament camp should complete the online credential form by Friday (Dec. 13) at 12 noon ET … USA Hockey expects to name its final 23-player roster for the 2020 IIHF World Junior Championship by Dec. 24 … Scott Sandelin is the head coach of Team USA and joined by assistant coaches David Lassonde (Durham, N.H./Dartmouth College), Steve Miller (Sun Prairie, Wis./Ohio State University), Brett Larson (St. Cloud, Minn./St. Cloud State University) and Jerry Keefe (Saugus, Mass./Northeastern University) … The United States enters the tournament having medaled in four consecutive World Junior Championships for the first time in U.S. history after earning gold in 2017, silver in 2019, and bronze in both 2018 and 2016 … Team USA will play its preliminary round games in Ostrava against Group B opponents Canada, Czech Republic, Germany and Russia. Quarterfinals will be split between the Ostrava and Trinec. The semifinal and medal games will be played at Ostravar Arena in Ostrava. For more information about the tournament, click here … USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.

Categories: Hockey Headlines

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: