Ask the Official: penalties during stoppage of play

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: An Official blows his whistle to stop play. The players around the puck do not hear the whistle and the play continues. During this time, a player commits an infraction that calls for a minor penalty. Should the Referee assess the penalty even though play was supposed to have stopped prior to the infraction?

ANSWER: Yes. Rule Reference 401(a Note 1). The penalty must be assessed even though the play has technically ended. Penalties that occur during stoppages of play must be called as if they actually occurred during normal playing time.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: