Ask the Official: should pegs be used in 10U and below games?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: Should pegs (anchors) be used in 10U (squirt) and below games?

ANSWER: No. Rule Reference 105 (b): if applicable, the goal shall be anchored in a manner that would permit the goal posts to become dislodged when hit by a reasonable degree of force created by a player colliding with it.

With player safety in mind, AHAI and IHOA have jointly enacted a more stringent rule due to the wide variance of player body size at the 10U (squirt) level and below. This rule creates consistency and alleviates the potential for officials and coaches to debate this issue at game time.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: