Ask the Official: Enforcing Suspensions to Players or Team Officials

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: During the course of the game the referee is notified that Players or Team Officials that have received a previous suspension are participating in the game. These players did not sit out or fulfill their obligated suspension time. Should the referee penalize the offending team?

ANSWER: No. Rule Reference 201(c). The referee may not be aware of the time period that has taken place between games and therefore cannot enforce suspensions to Players or Team Officials. The referee is required to report the incident to the proper authorities for further review.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: