Ask the Official: Goalie contact while in the crease

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: What is USA Hockey’s policy and/or rules regarding goalie contact while in the crease? For example, if an attacking player goes hard to the net, but accidentally collides with goalie in the crease.

ANSWER: Rule 607(c) & (d) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:

A minor plus a misconduct or a major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to a player who body checks or charges a goalkeeper while the goalkeeper is within his goal crease or privileged area.

(d) A goalkeeper is NOT “fair game” because he is outside his privileged area. A penalty for interference or charging should be called in every case where an opposing player makes unnecessary contact with a goalkeeper. Likewise, Referees should be alert to penalize goalkeepers for any infractions they commit in the vicinity of the goal.

(Note 1) For the purpose of this rule, any accidental or unavoidable contact that occurs with the goalkeeper shall be penalized under the Interference rule. Any deliberate body contact or check that is delivered to the goalkeeper shall be penalized as Charging.

(Note 2) The goalkeeper’s “Privileged Area” is an area outlined by connecting the end zone face-off spots with an imaginary line and imaginary lines from each face-off spot running perpendicular to the end boards.



Categories: Ask the Official, IHOA

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: