Ask the Official: Disallowed Goal

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: During a game the net was dislodged (about 12″). The goalie tried to get the attention of the refs while play continued. About 10 seconds later, with the net still off, the other team scored. The coach immediately pointed out the net being dislodged. Although they didn’t notice the net was off until then, both officials acknowledged the net was off before the goal was scored, yet still allowed the goal. One ref said the net being off didn’t affect play. The other said he couldn’t wave off a goal after it’s been signaled. What should have happened?

ANSWER: Play should be stopped as soon as the goal frame is dislodged from its normal position (Rule 610[e]) and the officials should disallow any goal if they are 100% certain the puck entered the goal after it was displaced.



Categories: Ask the Official

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: