Ask the Official: Allowable Goal?

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A player is skating toward the opposing net, takes a shot and falls down sliding toward the net. His momentum carries him in to the goal keeper, knocking the puck loose and in to the net. The goal keeper did not have possession long enough for the play to be blown dead. Is this a good goal?

ANSWER: Rule 617(c)2 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

A goal shall not be allowed if the following occurs:

(2) The puck has been thrown or deliberately directed into the goal by any means other than a stick, even if subsequently deflecting off any player, including goalkeeper, prior to entering the goal.”

The general rule is a puck must be propelled into the goal by a stick. Which means a player may not knock the puck into the goal by making contact with the goalkeeper after he/she makes a save.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: