Ask the Official: Penalty Shot Situation

New_IHOA_large

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar

QUESTION: Penalty Shot situation: The player starting skating with the puck. About halfway to the goal he lost possession, he actually skated beyond the puck closer to the goal. He stopped and the puck caught up to him and continued.  The puck remained in forward motion the whole time and did not stop. Is that legal?

ANSWER: As long as the puck stays in forward motion toward the opponent’s goal line during the penalty shot attempt it does not matter if the player temporarily loses control of the puck or completely whiffs on the shot (no contact made with the puck during a shot attempt).



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: