Ask the Official: Good Goal?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: A player is skating toward the opposing net, takes a shot and falls down sliding toward the net. His momentum carries him into the goalkeeper, knocking the puck loose and into the net. The goalkeeper did not have possession long enough for the play to be blown dead. Is this a good goal?

ANSWER: NO. Rule 617(c)2 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “A goal shall not be allowed if the following occurs: (2) The puck has been thrown or deliberately directed into the goal by any means other than a stick, even if subsequently deflecting off any player, including goalkeeper, prior to entering the goal.”

The general rule is a puck must be propelled into the goal by a stick. Which means a player may not knock the puck into the goal by making contact with the goalkeeper after he/she makes a save.



Categories: Ask the Official, featured, Hockey Headlines, IHOA, Officials

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: