Ask the Official: Is it acceptable for a player to take one hand off of the stick and use it as a shield to maintain space between the two players?

By Dave Zednik, IHOA Registrar


QUESTION: Is it acceptable for a player to take one hand off of the stick and use it as a shield to maintain space between the two players?

ANSWER: A player who is in possession and control of the puck is allowed to use a free hand to maintain body position that they legally established. An example of this is when two players are skating shoulder to shoulder, or the defensive player is slightly behind, and the player with the puck uses the free arm to fend off the opponent and maintain their body position. Naturally, though, if they grab the stick, sweater or arm of the opponent, or use the free arm to push off and create space, a penalty should be assessed.



Categories: Ask the Official, Featured, Officials

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: